....serving the worlds great saxophonists since 1996

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

New Baerenreiter Edition of Glazunov Saxophone Concerto Available

E-mail Print PDF
User Rating: / 21


After several years in preparation, a new urtext edition of the famous Glazunov Concerto in E-flat Major, Op. 109 is now available from the German publisher Baerenreiter!  What is an urtext edition?  An urtext edition of a work of classical music is a printed version intended to reproduce the original intention of the composer as exactly as possible, without any added or changed material.  An urtext edition will also specifically tell you what source material was used in creating the edition and include some historical and editorial information.  All of those requirements are met in the new Baerenreiter edition.  Order here.

Carina Rascher mentioned this project to me way back in 2001, so this has been an exhaustive undertaking by all involved.  The editors Regina Back and Douglas Woodfull-Harris have consulted three primary sources.  These are the hand-written, autographed score presented by Glazunov to Sigurd Rascher (as well as Rascher's notes comments and correspondence with Glazunov), the composer's sketches from the State Museum of Theatre and Music in Sheremetev Palace in St. Petersburg, Russia, and the original version published by Leduc in 1936.





So, what you have in this edition is a note by note comparison of the sources, indications where discrepancies exist, the original Glazunov cadenza, the Glazunov-revised and extended cadenza from the published version, Sigurd Rascher's self-composed cadenza which he used in performance, and the original ending to the piece.  Also included is a revised piano reduction that simplifies the execution of an otherwise very difficult accompaniment, PLUS two saxophone parts.  One is the original published version.  The second has been specially prepared by Carina Rascher and includes Sigurd Rascher's phrasing and interpretive markings.

Of interest to the scholar will be the well-researched and documented treatise on the origins and publication history of the Concerto.  I don't know the word count of the article, but this adds 6 double column, 9.5" x 12" pages (in both German and English) to the publication.

The alto saxophone and piano version BA8732a.  The full orchestral score is BA8732.  Performance string parts will be available soon.

This new edition will be a welcomed addition to any saxophonist's library.  We will run out of copies quickly, but we have more on order from Germany.

Last Updated on Saturday, 23 July 2011 22:52  


Do you find it more satisfying to be a solo musician or part of an ensemble?